When unable to view this newsletter please click here (online).

Tanja Liedtke Foundation

Newsletter June 2016 - Choreography 30

The dancers  of "60 sec", Garry Stewart,Director of ADT and Gerlinde Liedtke

International Competition for Choreography, Hanover, Germany.

11 & 12 June 2016

This prominent international competition has been produced by the Ballet Society Hannover for the past 30 years, and in that time it has become an very important event on the contemporary dance scene, with around 160 choreographers from 45 nations applying to participate.

The aim of the competition is to provide a platform for young choreographers to present their work in an international context to a jury of renowned choreographers and directors. Seven of the jury members this year were former participants in this unique competition.

On the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the Hanover competition, the Tanja Liedtke Foundation has donated a scholarship to an individual dancer to travel to Australian Dance Theatre (ADT) in Adelaide, Australia to work with the company and its Artistic Director/Choreographer Garry Stewart. The scholarship was awarded by Mr Stewart to Botis Seva from Great Britain. Botis’ work titled 60 sec was also awarded first prize in the competition overall as well as the audience prize. Botis’ Tanja Liedtke Foundation scholarship includes return travel to Adelaide and accommodation, as well as the ADT placement. We wish Botis all the best for his trip to Australia and we hope he enjoys his time with ADT.

The dancers  of 60 sec: Victoria Shulungu, Lee Griffiths, Botis Seva-Choreographer, Jordan Douglas, Joshua Nash, Ezra Owen.

Full list of winners of the International Competition for Choreographers Hannover 2016 are:

1st Prize
Botis Seva (UK)

2nd Prize
Maciej Kuzminski (Poland)

3rd Prize
Zibo Geng (China)

Critics/Journalist prize
David Llari (France)

Audience prize
Botis Seva, (UK)
60 sec


Scapino Production prize:
Maciej Kuzminski (Poland)

Bundesjugendballett Prize Hamburg:
Paul Hess (Germany)
Totilas - Der Ritt

Gautier Dance Company:
Matthias Kass (Germany) & Clement Bugnon (Switzerland) 

Tanja Liedtke Foundation Scholarship
(placement at Australian Dance Theatre):
Botis Seva (UK)

Photo: Garry Stewart-Director of ADT, Australia, Kurt and Gerlinde Liedtke, Dr. Brigitte Gruesser


If you would like to support the work of the Tanja Liedtke Foundation, please have a look at our Donation page
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us

ImprintPast NewslettersFoundationCurrent Projects

Click here to unsubscribe to the newsletter.